Endangered animal species
France

Awareness campaign: Parole de Lynx


Lynx © Roland Clerc

The Eurasian lynx (Lynx lynx) is classified on the IUCN Red List as ‘endangered’. The lynx’s situation is critical in France because of its small population and fragmentation. A lack of knowledge of the species has also led to problems with acceptance and both direct (poaching) and indirect (road collisions) destruction. Three population cores exist: the historical Vosges core (only two males are known to live in the range); the Jura core, with between 80 and 100 individuals; and the Alps, with several scattered habitats. Despite its protected species status, no Action Plan has been put in place to protect the Eurasian lynx.

Concerned about the uncertain future of the lynx in France, FERUS plans to set up a large-scale public awareness program with the help of eco-volunteers to raise public awareness of the species: Parole de Lynx.

Through this program, the NGO will not only carry out an extensive public awareness campaign but will also undertake mediation with livestock farmers and the hunting community. In preparation for the launching of the full-scale program in 2020, FERUS did a ‘test run’ in the summer of 2019. The initiative received broad support and encouragement.

The project will involve a team of three trained volunteers and a FERUS staff member, who will travel around the target area in order to:

  • distribute information leaflets about the lynx to passers-by;
  • devise a questionnaire and talk to local residents and visitors at markets or local events to raise awareness and provide information as well as responding to their questions;
  • distribute information leaflets to shopkeepers, tourist offices, town halls, etc. as part of a large-scale information campaign aimed at citizens and elected officials;
  • organize lectures and events open to the general public.

The launch of this initiative has been postponed to 2021 because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

This project is partly funded thanks to the sponsorship of a generous donor. If you also wish to support initiatives towards threatened animal species conservation, click here.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Espèces animales en danger
France

Sensibilisation : Parole de Lynx


Lynx © Roland Clerc

Le Lynx Boréal (Lynx lynx) est classé en danger sur la liste rouge de l’UICN. Sa situation est critique en France notamment de par son faible effectif et de sa fragmentation. De même, la méconnaissance de l’espèce entraîne un problème d’acceptation et de destruction direct (braconnage) et indirect (collision). Sa population est constituée de 3 noyaux : le noyau vosgien historique (seuls 2 mâles sont connus dans le massif), le Jura avec entre 80 et 100 individus et les Alpes avec plusieurs « îlots ». Malgré son statut d’espèce protégée, il n’y a pas de Plan d’Action mis en place pour sa préservation.

Préoccupé par l’avenir incertain du Lynx en France, FERUS souhaite mettre en œuvre un programme de sensibilisation d’envergure, s’appuyant sur des éco-volontaires, afin de mieux faire connaître l’espèce auprès du grand public : Parole de Lynx.

Avec ce programme, l’ONG mettra en œuvre un important travail de sensibilisation du grand public mais aussi de médiation avec le monde de l’élevage et de la chasse. Afin de préparer au mieux le lancement en grandeur réelle en 2020, FERUS a procédé à un programme « test » à l’été 2019. L’accueil réservé a été globalement très bon et l’action encouragée.

Pour cela, une équipe de 3 bénévoles formés et un salarié de FERUS sillonneront la zone d’action afin de :

  • Diffuser aux passants des plaquettes d’information sur le lynx
  • Réaliser un questionnaire et échanger avec les habitants et les gens de passage sur les marchés ou manifestations locales afin de les sensibiliser et les informer ; ainsi que répondre à leurs interrogations
  • Diffuser chez les commerçants, offices de tourisme, mairies… des plaquettes d’information pour diffusion massive de l’information aux citoyens et aux élus
  • Organiser des conférences/animations ouvertes au public

Le lancement de l’initiative a été reporté en 2021 suite à la pandémie de la COVID-19.

Le financement de ce projet est assuré en partie grâce au parrainage d’un généreux donateur. Si vous souhaitez vous aussi soutenir des initiatives en faveur de la préservation des espèces animales menacées, cliquez ici.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS