Sustainable agriculture
Laos

Forestry and Agroecology in the mountains of northern Laos


This project follows on from initiatives in the region by Agrisud and its local partners. From 2005 to 2008, Agrisud ran a peri-urban agriculture project to support local producers in supplying markets and hotels in the town of Luang Prabang. From 2009 to 2012, it conducted a project entitled ‘Food security for women and rural poor in Viengkham District’, covering 25 villages.

Viengkham is one of the country’s 47 priority districts for development. Over half of its villages are classified as particularly vulnerable, with a per capita income of US$ 270 per annum. Local communities depend on natural forests, under threat from deforestation and over-exploitation, not only as a source of food but also for their livelihood. A significant proportion of household income comes from cardamom and puak muak (liana whose bark, once dried, is used in production of incense, mosquito repellents and glue), and unless the quantities harvested and the methods used are controlled, these plants are likely to disappear.

Fondation Ensemble supported a first time this project in 2014:

The project’s main goal was to fight poverty and contribute to the social and economic development of rural populations by developing agricultural models suited to local circumstances in the mountainous districts of northern Laos while helping to rehabilitate, safeguard and enhance natural resources, and to adapt to and mitigate climate change.

Result from the first phase:

Improved farming systems, from a technical, economical and environmental perspective, were put in place by the farming families in the region.

  • 699 training sessions were held for six production systems: food, feed crops, market gardening, forestry, rice farming and fruit growing.
  • 824 families adopted at least two agroecological practices.
  • 290 ha of agricultural land were rehabilitated.

Local development plans (agricultural and forest land use, integrated water management, and access to drinking water) were drawn up on a participatory basis and implemented at village level.

  • 20 land use plans (PLUP) were implemented and 20 local development plans (PLD) were drawn up.
  • 9,448 ha of forest were registered, for their protection and conservation.
  • 9 water supply systems were built in 7 villages, and 1 junior/senior high school.

In terms of conservation of productive natural resources (water, soil and biodiversity) and greenhouse gas emissions (carbon capture/sequestration, emissions reduction), the outcomes and impacts of developments in the land use and production systems were audited and assessed.

  • One inventory and one land use map were produced, and samples were taken from 44 plots.
  • A report on ‘lessons learned’ from the environmental studies, produced by partner NGO ETC Terra, estimated carbon sequestration at 4770 tonnes during the project implementation period and at 180 053 tonnes over 20 years if the land use plans are fully implemented and respected.

The results have been shared and disseminated, and local partners have been trained in order to enable replication of the project on a wider scale.

A manual in the Lao language, explaining all the agroecological practices advocated, an environmental footprint assessment guide, and an agrecology learning cycle (CAA) have been produced.

The Foundation is supporting this project for a second time in 2019:

This second phase of the project aims to capitalize on the lessons learned so that new farming models can be promoted and spread to other villages via a network of Master Farmers. It will also strengthen awareness-raising and environmental protection initiatives among school children.

The project will first focus on capacity building and monitoring of the Master Farmers in their role as autonomous local development actors, networking with other local stakeholders (farmers’ organizations, etc.)

Support will be given to the land use planning committees in identifying farming and environmental initiatives to put in place. An agroecological intensification approach will be promoted, targeting young families.

Innovative farming practices that were tested and approved in Phase 1 will be extended to 10 new villages.

Environmental education initiatives that specifically target schoolchildren will be carried out.

A household waste management program will be set up in partnership with five French NGOs and local development associations, covering at least six provinces in northern and southern Laos.

The households’ sexual and reproductive health will be a further important aspect of this new project.

Check out the testimonies of:

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Agriculture Durable
Laos

Foresterie et Agroécologie en zone de montagne au Nord Laos


Ce projet s’inscrit dans la continuité des actions d’Agrisud et de ses partenaires locaux dans la région. De 2005 à 2008, l’ONG a mené un projet d’agriculture périurbaine appuyant les producteurs locaux dans l’approvisionnement des marchés et des hôtels de la ville de Luang Prabang. De 2009 à 2012, elle a mené un projet de sécurité alimentaire dans le district de Viengkham nommé « Food security for women and rural poor in Viengkham District » (Sécurité alimentaire pour les femmes et les personnes pauvres dans le District de Viengkham), touchant 25 villages.

Classé parmi les 47 districts laotiens prioritaires en terme de développement, Viengkham compte plus de la moitié de ses villages classés comme particulièrement vulnérables, le revenu par personne y étant de 270 $ US par an. Les populations locales dépendent des forêts naturelles, menacées par la déforestation et la surexploitation, pour leur apport nutritionnel mais aussi pour leur revenu. En effet, la cardamome et le puak muak (liane dont on récupère l’écorce qui, une fois séchée est utilisée dans la production d’encens, de répulsifs anti-moustiques ou encore de colles) constituent une part importante des apports financiers des ménages et, sans contrôle des quantités prélevées et des méthodes utilisées, ces plantes risquent de disparaître.

La Fondation a soutenu une première fois ce projet en 2014 :

L’objectif principal était de lutter contre la pauvreté et de contribuer au développement économique et social des populations rurales, en développant des modèles agricoles adaptés aux contextes des districts montagneux du Nord Laos tout en contribuant à la réhabilitation, la préservation et la valorisation des ressources naturelles, ainsi qu’à l’atténuation et l’adaptation au changement climatique.

Résultats de la première phase :

Des systèmes agricoles performants aux plans techniques, économiques et environnementaux, sont mis en œuvre par les familles d’agriculteurs de la zone.

  • 699 sessions de formation ont été réalisées pour 6 systèmes de production : vivrier, fourrager, maraîcher, forestier, rizicole et arboriculture fruitière.
  • 824 familles ont adopté au moins 2 pratiques d’agroécologie.
  • 290 ha de terres agricoles ont été réhabilités.

Des plans locaux de développement (aménagement des espaces agricoles et forestiers, gestion intégrée de l’eau et accès à l’eau potable) sont élaborés de manière participative et mis en œuvre à l’échelle villageoise.

  • 20 plans d’aménagement du territoire (PLUP) ont été mis en œuvre et 20 Plans Locaux de Développement (PLD) ont été élaborés.
  • 9448 ha de forêts enregistrées pour la protection et la conservation.
  • 9 systèmes d’adduction d’eau ont été construits dans 7 villages et 1 collège-lycée.

Les résultats et effets des aménagements et systèmes de production promus en termes de préservation des ressources naturelles productives (eau, sol et biodiversité) et de bilans GES (séquestration de carbone / réduction d’émissions) sont vérifiés et évalués.

  • 1 inventaire et 1 carte d’occupation des sols a été réalisée et 44 parcelles ont été échantillonnées.
  • Un document de capitalisation des études environnementales a été produit par l’ONG partenaire ETC Terra estimant la séquestration de CO2 à 4.770 tonnes durant la période de mise en oeuvre du projet et à 180.053 tonnes sur 20 ans si les PLUP sont complètement mis en place et respectés.

Les résultats sont capitalisés et diffusés, les partenaires locaux sont formés pour une réplication du projet à plus large échelle.
Un manuel en Lao regroupant l’ensemble des pratiques agroécologiques promues, un guide d’évaluation de l’empreinte environnementale et 1 cycle d’apprentissage en Agroécologie (CAA) ont été produits.

La Fondation soutient une seconde fois le projet en 2019 :

Cette seconde phase du projet a pour objectif de capitaliser sur les acquis afin de permettre la promotion et la diffusion des nouveaux modèles dans d’autres villages à travers un réseau de maîtres-exploitants, ainsi que de renforcer les activités de sensibilisation et de protection de l’environnement auprès du public scolaire.

Elle intègrera tout d’abord le renforcement des capacités et le suivi des Maîtres-Exploitants à agir en tant qu’acteur local et autonome de développement. Ils seront mis en réseaux avec d’autres acteurs locaux (organisations paysannes, …).

Les comités de planification et de gestion territorial seront accompagnés dans la définition des actions à mettre en place dans l’agriculture et l’environnement. Des aménagements territoriaux pour une intensification écologique des zones agricoles à destination des jeunes ménages seront menées.

Les pratiques agricoles innovantes testées et approuvées lors de la phase 1 seront étendues à 10 nouveaux villages.

Des activités d’éducation à l’environnement ciblant spécifiquement les élèves d’établissements scolaires seront menées.

Un programme de gestion des ordures ménagères en partenariat avec 5 ONGs françaises et des associations de développement locales couvrant au moins 6 Provinces au Nord et au Sud du Laos sera créé.

La santé sexuelle et reproductive des ménages sera également un volet important de ce nouveau projet.

Retrouvez les témoignages :

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS