Sustainable agriculture
Peru

Support for collective organic certification projects, product development and internal capacity building of the Frutos del Ande cooperative


Quinoa harvest

In Peru, family farming is a key occupation for much of the population (the country has 2.3 million farmers). Most of these families live in rural areas marked by poverty and inequality. The attention given by the State to the family farming sector remains minimal, or in some areas non-existent. In the Ayacucho region, where the project is based, not only do producers have market access problems but they also face production and environmental conservation issues.

It was in this context that Autre Terre supported the establishment of the ‘Fruits of the Andes’ cooperative. To face the challenges mentioned above, capacity building and empowerment of this first agricultural cooperative in the region are needed. To this end, the production chains, processing and marketing of certified organic products must be developed. Various initiatives have been planned to achieve the project goals:

  • The producers’ production and management capacities will be strengthened in the following ways: introduction of a composting system to produce organic fertilizer; development of new planting areas; establishment of a seed production center and seven irrigation systems. The producer organizations’ management skills will thereby be enhanced.
  • The producers’ and producer organizations’ processing and marketing capacities will be strengthened. A network will be set up for the collection of avocados, quinoa and tara (tree whose pods are used in leather tanning and seeds in the food industry). An avocado packaging center and oil preparation workshop will also be built. Product certification will be introduced. A loan will be provided to serve as working capital for the cooperative and to develop product marketing. Finally, markets that offer greater added value will be pursued.
  • Local authorities and civil society will be made aware of the issues and mobilized to support agroecology. Strategic alliances with local authorities and private stakeholders in the sector will be strengthened. Advocacy initiatives will be conducted at local/regional government and community level. A regional fair will also be set up.
  • The producer organizations and cooperative will have their internal organization strengthened and will apply the principles of the social and solidarity economy. An administrative department will be set up, and the project management and accounting skills of the cooperative and its members will be improved. Management and governance bodies will also be strengthened. A mechanism will be put in place for meetings to maximize synergy and exchange of views on how to monitor and capitalize on innovation. Efforts will be made towards legal recognition of the cooperative. The ultimate goal is for the cooperative to be not only financially but also organizationally independent.

Furthermore, climate change mitigation and adaptation will be promoted through agroecology, sound water management and reforestation plantations. Soil pollution caused by use of chemical inputs will also be reduced thanks to an increase in the number of certified organic farmers who will ensure that crop barriers are used to reduce the potential risk of contamination from neighboring non-organic plots.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Agriculture durable
Pérou

Soutien aux projets collectifs de certification biologique, valorisation des produits et renforcement interne de la coopérative Fruits des Andes


Quinoa harvest

Au Pérou, l’agriculture familiale est une activité primordiale pour une part importante de la population (2,3 millions de personnes sont agriculteurs). Ces familles résident principalement en zone rurale où la pauvreté et les inégalités prédominent. Par ailleurs, l’attention portée par l’Etat au secteur de l’agriculture familiale reste minime, voire inexistante dans certaines zones. Dans la région d’Ayacucho, où le projet est situé, les producteurs ont des problèmes d’accès aux marchés mais aussi de production et de préservation de l’environnement.

Dans ce contexte, Autre Terre a soutenu la mise en place de la Coopérative Frutos del Ande, créée par des producteurs en 2014 via 28 associations de district. Le renforcement et l’autonomisation de cette première coopérative agricole de la région répondrait aux défis précédemment évoqués. Pour cela les chaînes de production, transformation et commercialisation de produits biologiques certifiés doivent être développées. Différentes activités sont ainsi prévues dans le cadre de ce projet :

  • Les capacités de production et de gestion des producteurs seront renforcées via notamment : la mise en place d’un système de compostage pour la création d’engrais organiques, la mise en place de nouvelles zones de plantation, d’un centre de production de semences et de 7 systèmes d’irrigation. Les organisations de producteurs verront leurs compétences en gestion renforcées.
  • Les capacités de transformation et de commercialisation des producteurs et des organisations de producteurs sont renforcées. Un réseau de collecte d’avocat, de quinoa et de tara (arbre dont la gousse est utilisée pour le tannage du cuir et la graine pour l’industrie alimentaire) sera créé. Par ailleurs un centre d’emballage d’avocats et un atelier de préparation d’huile seront construits. Des certifications des produits seront mises en place. Un prêt servant de fonds de roulement à la coopérative et permettant d’amorcer la commercialisation sera mis à disposition. Enfin des marchés offrant une meilleure valeur ajoutée seront recherchés.
  • Les autorités locales et la société civile seront sensibilisées et se mobiliseront en faveur de l’agroécologie. Les alliances stratégiques avec les pouvoirs locaux et les acteurs privés de la filière seront renforcées. Des actions de plaidoyer auprès des gouvernements locaux et régionaux ainsi que les populations seront menées. Une foire régionale sera aussi créée.
  • Les organisations de producteurs et la coopérative seront renforcées dans leur organisation interne et appliqueront les principes de l’économie sociale et solidaire. Un département administration de la coopérative sera créé et ses compétences en gestion de projets et en comptabilité, ainsi que celles de ses membres, seront renforcées. Les organes de gestion et de gouvernance seront aussi renforcés. Un mécanisme de réunions de synergie et d’échange sur le suivi et capitalisation des innovations sera mis en place. Un travail de reconnaissance légale de la coopérative aura lieu. Enfin des réunions de formalisation puis de suivi de la coopérative seront tenues. Le but final est que cette structure soit autonome au niveau financier mais aussi organisationnel.

Par ailleurs, l’agroécologie, la bonne gestion de l’eau et le reboisement via les plantations permettront une atténuation et une meilleure adaptation aux changements climatiques. La pollution des sols due aux intrants chimiques sera également réduite grâce à l’augmentation du nombre d’agriculteurs certifiés qui veilleront à utiliser des barrières de cultures afin de réduire les risques éventuels de contamination par des parcelles non biologiques adjacentes.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS