Sustainable technologies
Myanmar

Identifying and sharing innovative technologies for recycling organic waste in Myanmar


Landfill

This project will be run by GRET in the town of Magway in central Myanmar. Waste management is currently limited to partial collection of waste for disposal on an uncontrolled landfill site made available to the Township Development Committee. This site has no basic infrastructure (access road, fence, ground sealing, leachate recovery, weighbridge, etc.), no physical boundaries and no separate storage facilities for special waste (e.g. medical waste), which is stored directly on the ground. The current system represents a high risk to the environment (particularly to water resources) and to workers’ health. No organic recycling has been carried out to date despite the fact that fermentable waste makes up 70% to 80% of the total waste produced in the city’s central areas and markets. Finally, the employees concerned, who have received little or no training, have very limited resources for providing the town’s inhabitants with quality services.

As far as household waste collection is concerned, the system only works adequately along the town’s main roads where, on a voluntary drop-off basis, residents bring their waste when a sound signal indicates the arrival of the garbage truck. Access to neighborhoods is made difficult by the absence or poor state of street repairs, leading to irregular or, in some areas, non-existent waste collection. This lack of services leads to illegal dumping in close proximity to residential areas.

This project aims to ensure better collection, treatment and recycling of waste from the town center, using sustainable technologies. This will enable local residents’ living conditions to be improved and environmental impact to be minimized.

The project will be developed in two separate areas: the landfill site itself and a collection area in the town center, covering over 13 000 inhabitants. A composting facility will be established near the landfill site so that part of the organic waste can be recycled and air, soil and water pollution reduced.

In parallel, a waste collection service will be set up targeting residents with little access to existing schemes. Shopkeepers/traders and residents will be made aware of the importance of sorting and composting. Composting containers will be installed in the markets. Lastly, in order to foster residents’ engagement, a ‘payment for compost’ scheme will be trialed (with the compost being used in green spaces or sold to farmers).

It is planned to extend the project to the town as a whole (75,000 habitants) and to disseminate the innovations launched nationwide. As well as the sharing of experiences, advocacy work will be undertaken with the public authorities so as to encourage the implementation of sustainable approaches to waste management in the country’s towns.

A video introducting the project:

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Technologies durables
Myanmar

Recherche et partage de technologies innovantes pour la valorisation des déchets organiques au Myanmar


Landfill

Ce projet sera mené par le GRET dans la ville de Magway, au centre du Myanmar. Actuellement, la gestion des déchets se limite à la collecte partielle des ordures et à leur évacuation sur une décharge non contrôlée, mise à la disposition du Township Development Committee. Ce terrain ne dispose d’aucune infrastructure de base (route d’accès, clôture, étanchéisation du sol, récupération des lixiviats, pont bascule, etc.), de délimitations physiques, ni même de dispositifs de stockage des déchets spéciaux (notamment médicaux) qui sont entreposés à même le sol. Tout cela induit un risque élevé pour l’environnement (en particulier les ressources en eau) et la santé des travailleurs. Aucune valorisation organique n’est réalisée à ce jour alors que les déchets fermentescibles représentent 70% à 80% du total produit dans les quartiers centraux et marchés de la ville. Enfin le personnel, peu ou pas formé, ne dispose que de moyens très limités pour fournir des services de qualité à ses habitants.

En parallèle, la collecte des déchets ménagers n’est réalisée de manière satisfaisante que sur les axes principaux de la ville selon un système d’apports volontaires par les habitants au moment du passage du camion, annoncé par un signal sonore. Au sein des quartiers, l’accès est rendu difficile par l’absence ou le mauvais état des voies et le ramassage des ordures est irrégulier, voire inexistant dans certaines zones. Cette absence de service entraîne la création de dépôts d’ordures sauvages à proximité immédiate des habitations.

Ce projet vise à une meilleure collecte, traitement et valorisation des déchets du centre-ville, le tout s’appuyant sur des technologies durables. Ceci permettra d’améliorer les conditions de vie des habitants et minimiser les impacts sur l’environnement.

Le programme évoluera sur deux zones : le site de la décharge et une zone de collecte au centre de la ville, regroupant plus de 13 000 habitants. A proximité de la décharge, une unité de compostage sera déployée. Cette dernière permettra de valoriser une partie des déchets organiques mais aussi de réduire la pollution de l’air, des sols et des eaux.

En parallèle, un service de collecte sera mis en place notamment auprès des habitations peu desservies par la collecte de déchets. Les commerçants et habitants seront sensibilisés à l’intérêt du tri et du compostage. Des bacs de collecte pour compostage seront mis en place sur les marchés. Enfin, afin de susciter l’adhésion des résidents, un système de rétribution du compost sera testé (ce dernier sera aussi utilisé dans les espaces verts ou vendus à des agriculteurs).

Il est prévu d’étendre ce projet sur l’ensemble de la ville (75 000 habitants) et de diffuser, à l’échelle du pays, les innovations expérimentées. Au-delà du partage, un travail de plaidoyer sera entrepris auprès des autorités publiques afin de favoriser la mise en place d’approches durables de gestion des déchets dans les villes du pays.

Une vidéo présentant le projet :

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS