Sustainable agriculture
Ecuador

Conservation of biodiversity, promotion of sustainable agriculture practices and ancestral knowledge in the Ecuadorian Amazon


The Napo Province, located in the northwest of the Ecuadorian Amazon region, has high poverty rates with 77% of the population living in conditions of poverty and, among them, 43% living in extreme poverty. 66% of the inhabitants are living in rural areas and the population’s main economic activity is agriculture.

The Kichwa families, who represent 54% of the population of the Province, are mainly engaged in agriculture under the traditional production system called ‘chakra’. The main chakra products include cassava, bananas, cocoa, guayusa, chonta (palm) and fruit trees. Forest species and plants for medicinal or artisanal use are also cultivated. However many chakra products have no market connection and have been affected by monoculture which has led to an increase in planting areas, causing pressure on protected natural areas and forests such as the Sumaco Biosphere Reserve (located in the target area).

To address this situation, this project, managed by FECD, aims to preserve the Amazonian cultural and productive practices which are contributing to the food security, economic viability, conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity in the Kichwa communities of the Province. Among the activities planned, the project will:

  • Promote the maintenance of traditional agroforestry systems (chakra) and forest plantations by supporting incentive policies and strategies to recover degraded or intervened areas;
  • Strengthen market links for sustainable goods and services produced in the agricultural and tourist value chains related to chakras, as well as providing producers access to niche markets with premium prices that recognize the chakra ecosystem services;
  • Strengthen capacities of community decision-makers to manage and administer natural resources;
  • Promote intergenerational learning, conservation and reproduction of ancestral knowledge, to implement agro-ecological and tourism practices with a cultural focus;
  • Improve the quality of agricultural and tourist community-sector products, services and sustainable processes to secure local or international certifications that position and differentiate them on the market;
  • Recognize, demonstrate and value ecosystem services provided by the chakra system and quantify their contribution to maintaining/increasing priority ecosystem services (conserving the Kichwa culture, food security, resilience to climate change, climate regulation, scenic beauty, income generation);
  • Promote the establishment and expansion of sustainable agricultural and tourism production systems that contribute to conservation and proper use of natural resources.

By the end of the project, it is expected, among other results, that at least 400 people will be strengthened on implementing good manufacturing, agricultural and tourism practices, using basic business tools and organizational management, with a cultural and gender approach and that at least 50 local entities will have obtained the quality certification standard for the Ancestral Cocoa Route seal (a trademark promoting high quality-services and products in the tourism sector).
The production of agro-ecological food under the chakra-Kichwa model, that embraces environmental, social and economic criteria related to gender equality, is also expected to be recognized through a Chakra seal. The cocoa planting areas are expected to increase by 20% under the traditional chakra system, conserving ecosystem services, food security and cultural values of the Amazonian Kichwa people. By the end of the project, 3 agro-forestry nurseries will also be set up to provide seeds native to the Napo Province and at least 100 ha will be reforested through local incentive models.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Agriculture durable
Equateur

Conservation de la biodiversité, promotion des pratiques agricoles durables et des savoirs ancestraux dans l’Amazonie équatorienne


La province de Napo, dans le nord-ouest de l’Amazonie équatorienne, fait face à des niveaux de pauvreté très élevés : 77 % des habitants sont en situation de pauvreté, voire d’extrême pauvreté (pour 43 % de ces derniers). La population est rurale à 66 % et l’agriculture constitue la principale activité économique.

La communauté Kichwa, qui représente 54 % de la population de la province, vit essentiellement selon un système de cultures dénommé « chakras », des parcelles agricoles traditionnelles. Les Kichwa y cultivent principalement du manioc, des bananes, du cacao, du guayusa, des chontas (palmiers) et des arbres fruitiers. Des espèces et plantes forestières y sont également exploitées à des fins médicinales ou artisanales. Toutefois, de nombreux produits chakras ne sont pas commercialisés et ont souffert de la pratique de la monoculture, qui s’est traduite par une augmentation des surfaces cultivées, entraînant une pression sur les forêts et espaces naturels protégés tels que la Réserve de la Biosphère de Sumaco (située dans la zone d’intervention du projet).

Face à cette situation, le projet proposé par FECD vise à préserver les pratiques culturelles et agricoles amazoniennes qui contribuent à la sécurité alimentaire, à la viabilité économique ainsi qu’à la conservation et à l’exploitation durable de la biodiversité au sein des communautés Kichwa de la province. Les principales actions prévues sont :

  • Soutenir la préservation du système traditionnel d’agroforesterie (le chakra) et des cultures forestières, au moyen de politiques et de stratégies encourageant la réappropriation de zones dégradées ou spoliées ;
  • Favoriser la commercialisation des biens et services durables produits dans les chaînes de valeur agricoles et touristiques du chakra, et donner aux producteurs accès à des marchés de niche permettant de pratiquer des prix plus élevés, au titre des bénéfices écosystémiques du chakra ;
  • Renforcer les capacités des leaders communautaires à gérer et à administrer les ressources naturelles ;
  • Promouvoir l’apprentissage intergénérationnel ainsi que la préservation et la perpétuation des savoirs ancestraux, afin d’intégrer une dimension culturelle dans les pratiques agro-écologiques et touristiques ;
  • Améliorer la qualité des produits, services et procédés durables liés à l’agriculture et au tourisme, afin d’obtenir des certifications locales et internationales permettant de les positionner et de les mettre en avant sur le marché ;
  • Reconnaître, démontrer et valoriser les bénéfices du chakra pour l’écosystème, et quantifier la contribution de ces bénéfices à la préservation voire au renforcement des bénéfices prioritaires de l’écosystème (préservation de la culture Kichwa, sécurité alimentaire, résilience face au changement climatique, régulation climatique, beauté des paysages, génération de revenus) ;
  • Promouvoir l’instauration et l’expansion de systèmes de production agricoles et touristiques durables participant à la conservation et à l’exploitation raisonnée des ressources naturelles.

L’un des résultats attendus du projet est qu’au moins 400 personnes aient bénéficié d’un renforcement de leurs capacités en termes de pratiques agricoles, touristiques et de production, grâce à des outils professionnels de base et à la gestion organisationnelle, intégrant une dimension culturelle et de genre, et qu’au moins 50 entités locales aient obtenu la certification de qualité de la Route ancestrale du cacao (‘Ancestral Cocoa Route seal ‘, un label pour les produits et services de haute qualité dans le secteur du tourisme).

Un autre résultat attendu est que les produits alimentaires cultivés sur le modèle chakra-Kichwa, issus d’un mode de production agro-écologique satisfaisant aux critères environnementaux, sociaux et économiques liés à l’égalité des sexes, soient également certifiés par un label. Les surfaces de culture du cacao devraient par ailleurs augmenter de 20 % sur les parcelles traditionnelles de type chakra, qui préserve les bénéfices écosystémiques, la sécurité alimentaire et les valeurs culturelles de la communauté amazonienne des Kichwa. Au terme du projet, 3 pépinières agroforestières auront également été mises en place pour fournir des semences indigènes de la province de Napo, et au moins 100 hectares de forêt auront été reboisés grâce à des politiques incitatives au niveau local.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS