Sustainable agriculture
Ecuador

AlliAlpa project (‘fertile land’ in Quichua): strengthening agroecological practices and developing short food supply chains


Vegetable planting

Context:

In a trading environment that is particularly unfavorable to small producers and against a backdrop of agroecosystem degradation, the past few years have seen an increasing number of agroecology and short food supply chain initiatives in Ecuador. The demand often comes from grassroots farmers’ organizations, supported by national and international NGOs. However, this movement now needs to move up to a more professional and scientific level so that it can play a role in shaping relevant public policies. The authorities have also slowly become interested in new farming methods but their focus is more on a Green Revolution.

The NGO CESA (Ecuadorian Agricultural Services Center), the project’s local partner, has been working with the country’s small producers for over 50 years. Its teams are aware of the limitations and harmful effects of conventional farming, and of the need for a new agricultural model. For this reason, it has decided on a shift to agroecology.

Objectives:

AVSF aims to improve the living conditions of the farming families in Pillaro canton by developing agroecology and creating equitable, solidarity-based and environmentally friendly distribution channels. Capacity building will be undertaken to support the transition to agroecology and to add value to the products.
This project will include an awareness-raising component on sexual and reproductive health.
The NGO CESA will receive support for its contribution to developing agroecology and short food supply chains in Ecuador. Support for advanced training, research and sustainable policies in these fields will also be provided.

Planned activities:

By the end of the project, the supply of high-quality agroecological products will have been improved and extended by at least 20%. These products will be processed and traded by women via short supply chains. A total of 320 smallholders will follow a training program and exchange of traditional farming knowledge and skills. The role of women will be strengthened, as will processing capacity, added value and low-impact environmental practices. Two new collective short supply chain trading initiatives will be set up as well as an economic impact reporting system on the families selling their produce through these supply chains.

Thirty women leaders will receive training on health and on sexual and reproductive rights.

Ten technicians from the NGO CESA will be trained to support the smallholders’ agroecological practices and short food supply chain distribution.

The NGO’s agricultural extension capacity will be strengthened, as will support tools for agroecology and for developing local markets. Three guidance manuals will be produced and circulated in order to capitalize on the project.

Four universities, in conjunction with two local governments, will benefit from capacity building for training, research and public policy development to support agroecology and short food supply chains.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Agriculture durable
Equateur

Projet AlliAlpa (Terre fertile en Quichua) : renforcement des pratiques agroécologiques et développement des circuits courts


Contexte :

Dans un environnement de relations commerciales particulièrement défavorables aux producteurs et de dégradation des agroécosystèmes, on assiste ces dernières années à une multiplication d’initiatives d’agroécologie et de commercialisation en circuits-court en Équateur. Ces initiatives répondent souvent à des démarches autonomes d’organisations paysannes, accompagnées par des ONG nationales et internationales. Néanmoins ce mouvement a besoin de passer à un stade plus professionnel et scientifique et ainsi participer à la construction de politiques publiques pertinentes. Les pouvoirs publics s’intéressent également, peu à peu, à ces nouvelles méthodes mais leur action se porte plus sur une révolution verte.

L’ONG Centrale Equatorienne de Services Agricoles (CESA), partenaire local de ce projet, travaille depuis plus de 50 ans auprès des producteurs paysans du pays. Ses équipes constatent les limites et les méfaits de l’agriculture conventionnelle ainsi que la nécessité de changement de modèle agricole. Elle a donc décidé de se convertir à l’agroécologie.

Objectifs :

AVSF prévoit d’améliorer les conditions de vie des familles paysannes du canton de Pillaro via le développement de l’agroécologie et de canaux de commercialisation justes, solidaires et respectueux de l’environnement. Les capacités des familles productrices seront renforcées pour favoriser leur transition agroécologique et la valorisation de leurs produits.
Ce projet intégrera une composante de sensibilisation à la santé sexuelle et reproductive.

L’ONG CESA sera quant à elle soutenue dans sa contribution au développement de l’agroécologie et des circuits courts en Équateur. La formation supérieure, la recherche et les politiques durables seront également appuyées dans ces domaines.

Activités prévues :

L’offre de produits agroécologiques de qualité et d’origine paysanne sera améliorée et diversifiée d’au moins 20% à la fin du projet. Ces produits seront transformés et commercialisés en circuits-courts par des femmes. 320 producteurs suivront un programme de formation et d’échange de savoirs paysans. Le rôle des femmes ainsi que les capacités de transformation, d’apport de valeur ajoutée et les pratiques à faible impact environnemental seront renforcés. 2 nouvelles initiatives collectives de commercialisation en circuits courts seront mises en place ainsi qu’un système de suivi économique des familles vendant via ces circuits.

30 leaders femmes se verront proposer une formation en santé et en droits sexuels et reproductifs.

10 techniciens de l’ONG CESA seront formés à l’accompagnement de pratiques agroécologiques paysannes et à la commercialisation en circuits courts. Les capacités de vulgarisation agricole et les outils d’appui à l’agroécologie et au développement des marchés locaux de l’ONG seront renforcés. 3 documents de référence seront produits et diffusés afin de capitaliser sur le projet.

Les capacités de formation, recherche et élaboration de politiques publiques d’appui à l’agroécologie et aux circuits courts de 4 universités, en lien avec 2 gouvernements locaux, seront renforcées.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS