Endangered animal species
Dominican Republic, Haiti

Conserving Breeding Sites of the Black-capped Petrel (Pterodroma hasitata)


Chick of Black-capped Petrel within nest © Grupo Jaragua

The Black-capped Petrel is a medium-sized, relatively long-winged gadfly petrel. It is listed as Endangered on the IUCN Red List, because it has a very small, fragmented and declining breeding range and population. This seabird is only known to breed in small colonies in the broadleaf and pine forests of the upper mountains and cliffs of the Massif de la Selle and Massif de la Hotte (Haiti) and the Sierra de Bahoruco (Dominican Republic), on Hispaniola island.

The focal point for conservation activities of this species is the village of Boukan Chat (Haiti) which is the human settlement located most closely to breeding colonies in the eastern part of the Sierra de Bahoruco. The economy of the community relies entirely on the short-term production of cash crops. Harvests are often destroyed by extreme climatic events, such as prolonged droughts or torrential rains and flooding, leaving the community without income. As a result, people in this community are expanding their production areas towards the petrel’s nesting areas.
The goal of this project, implemented by Grupo Jaragua, is to ensure the long-term survival of Black-capped petrel (Pterodroma hasitata) populations by reducing human pressure on the species and mitigating vulnerability to climate change threats on Hispaniola.

Activities of adults at known nests will be monitored using camera traps in both Dominican Republic and Haiti. The presence and development of the chicks inside the nest will be periodically revised by visual inspection using boroscopes. In order to find more colonies, nocturnal call surveys and digital call recordings with outdoor microphones will be used.

Two trained assistants will carry out classroom lessons, field activities and games. The subjects which will be presented include the local flora and fauna, soil and water and their importance for the community, as well as conservation of this bird as a flagship species. At least three school workshops will be carried out for at least 100 children in Boukan Chat.

Two community meetings will be held in order to promote the introduction and development of sustainable perennial agroforestry systems to replace present short-term cash crop economy. Local farmers and youth groups will be trained in management of a tree nursery and production of saplings. At least 10 families will receive support in the establishment of agroforestry plots and training regarding best management practices including erosion control, composting to produce organic fertilizer, and organic plant and crop protection.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Espèces animales en danger
Haïti, République dominicaine

Conservation des zones de reproduction du Pétrel diablotin (Pterodroma hasitata)


Chick of Black-capped Petrel within nest © Grupo Jaragua

Le Pétrel diablotin est un pétrel de taille moyenne aux ailes relativement longues. Il est classé sur la Liste rouge de l’UICN en raison de la faible taille, de la fragmentation et du déclin de sa population et de son aire de reproduction. Cet oiseau de mer ne se reproduit qu’en petites colonies, dans les forêts de feuillus et de pins des hautes montagnes et des falaises du Massif de la Selle et du Massif de la Hotte (Haïti) et de la chaîne de Baoruco (République dominicaine), sur l’île d’Hispaniola.

Les activités de conservation de cette espèce se concentrent principalement dans le village de Boukan Chat (Haïti), qui est le lieu d’habitat humain le plus proche des colonies de reproduction du pétrel dans la partie Est de la chaîne de Baoruco. L’activité économique de la communauté repose entièrement sur les cultures commerciales de court terme. Les récoltes sont souvent détruites en raison d’aléas climatiques extrêmes tels que des sécheresses prolongées ou des pluies torrentielles et inondations, laissant la communauté sans revenus. Cette situation a conduit les habitants de ce village à étendre leurs cultures vers les zones de nidification des pétrels.

Le but de ce projet mis en œuvre par Grupo Jaragua est d’assurer la survie durable des populations de Pétrel diablotin (Pterodroma hasitata), en réduisant la pression humaine exercée sur l’espèce et en atténuant la vulnérabilité de l’île d’Hispaniola face aux menaces liées au changement climatique.

L’activité des pétrels adultes autour des nids connus sera surveillée au moyen de pièges photographiques installés à la fois en République dominicaine et en Haïti. La présence et le développement des poussins à l’intérieur des nids feront l’objet d’un suivi régulier par inspection visuelle au moyen de boroscopes. Le projet prévoit également l’utilisation d’enregistrements audio nocturnes réalisés à l’aide de micros en extérieur afin de repérer de nouvelles colonies.

Deux assistants formés organiseront des cours en classe, des activités sur le terrain et des jeux portant notamment sur la faune et la flore locales, les sols et l’eau et leur importance pour la communauté, ainsi que la conservation de cet oiseau en tant qu’espèce emblématique. Au moins trois ateliers seront organisés dans les écoles, pour au moins 100 enfants du village de Boukan Chat.

Deux réunions communautaires auront lieu afin de promouvoir l’instauration et le développement de systèmes d’agroforesterie pérennes pour remplacer l’actuelle économie court terme fondée sur les cultures commerciales. Les paysans et groupes de jeunes locaux seront formés à la gestion d’une pépinière et à la production de jeunes plants. Au moins 10 familles bénéficieront d’un soutien pour mettre en place des parcelles et seront formées aux meilleures pratiques d’agroforesterie (contrôle de l’érosion, réalisation de compost pour produire de l’engrais naturel, protection des plantes et des cultures biologiques).

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS