Biodiversity conservation
Peru

Alternative development pathways for indigenous Awajun communities: Building new livelihood opportunities from indigenous cultural and natural capital


The Awajun indigenous people have settled in the Alto Mayo basin 300 years ago. There, they found extensive places for hunting, harvesting of forest products, and developing farming activities. With the arrival of landless peasants from the highlands, local people started renting their land to migrant families for planting rice and coffee. This system is unsustainable and unfavorable for Awajun families not familiar with commercial transactions but also lead to negative environmental impact and numerous violent conflicts. Finally, the building of the highway, which has brought more migrants into their territories subsequently led the Awajun of the Alto Mayo watershed to lose much of their natural and cultural heritage.

This project aims to support the Shampuyacu Awajun community, one of the fourteen titled communities in the Alto Mayo province. Home to approximately 220 Awajun families, the community has extensively rented their land to Andean migrants. This situation has resulted in the loss of approximately 4,366 ha, representing 89 percent of the community ́s area.

The project will help them in the sustainable management of their territories and of partnerships with the private sector, to halt or reduce deforestation. This will be done by:

Creating the enabling conditions for the commercialization and marketing of up to four different plant species as herbal teas.

CI has built trust with the Awajun indigenous community through work that has supported women in the design of a new business model for medicinal plants to be commercialized as herbal teas. In addition to being a source of potential income, this work offers an opportunity to rescue traditional knowledge while providing alternative products to the growing market for medicinal plants. The community is now looking for creating their marketing and branding plan, and to secure the seed money needed to promote their products in fairs and other venues.

Sixty-six women of the Shampuyacu Awajun Native Community will benefit directly from this project activity, supporting their work in the Bosque de las Nuwas (Awajun for “Women ́s Forest”) initiative. The project will also directly benefit to families with growing, harvesting and commercializing medicinal plants, through the conservation and restoration of the ecosystem and finally with improved incomes and access to increased health benefits. The number of participants will increase once the project starts to create interest within the community and potential benefits are more visible. Finally, this is a pilot business model that, if successful, will generate interest in neighboring Awajun communities further scaling its impact and reach.

Contributing to the conservation of forest ecosystems in indigenous communities of the Alto Mayo

Alongside, this project will allow Conservation International to engage with the Shampuyacu Awajun community through conservation agreements with the community members, but also with the migrant farmers. The NGO will support activities that aim to conserve their primary forests, restore and enrich forest fallows and their agroforestry systems with traditional plants, improve the environmental and biodiversity attributes in the community, improve livelihoods, rescue and transfer indigenous knowledge and halt deforestation. The aim is to create land conservation and restoration that could contribute to climate change mitigation efforts and be adopted by national programs.

Species to be preserved and recovered include around 30 local varieties of manioc and herbs that are important for the community’s food security and health, as well as native tree species required for the recovery of endangered wildlife, such as the San Martin titi monkey (Callicebus oenanthe) and the critically endangered Puyo Robber frog (Pristimantis katoptroides).

Conservation International wishes to enlist support of the Provincial, Regional, and National Government to achieve long-term sustainability of this initiative as well as the interest of specialty markets.

Check out the testimony of Margarita Cumvia Sawau, beneficiary of the project.

You can also check out “Women on a mission”, a documentary relating on the project.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Préservation de la biodiversité
Pérou

Des méthodes de développement alternatives pour les communautés indigènes Awajun : Créer des possibilités de revenus supplémentaires grâce au patrimoine culturel et naturel local


Les populations indigènes Awajun se sont installées dans le bassin de l’Alto Mayo il y a 300 ans. Elles y ont trouvé de vastes espaces pour la chasse, la récolte de produits forestiers, et y développer leurs activités agricoles. Avec l’arrivée de paysans sans terre venus des Andes, ces communautés ont commencé à louer leurs terres aux familles de migrants pour qu’elles y cultivent du riz et du café. Non seulement ce système n’est pas viable et dessert les familles Awajun peu habituées aux transactions commerciales, mais il a aussi eu des conséquences environnementales négatives et a généré de nombreux conflits violents. Enfin, la construction de l’autoroute, qui a fait venir un nombre encore plus important de migrants sur leurs territoires, a eu pour conséquence de faire perdre aux Awajun du bassin de l’Alto Mayo une grande partie de leur patrimoine naturel et culturel.

Ce projet a pour objectif de soutenir la communauté Awajun de Shampuyacu, l’une des quatorze communautés attitrées de la province de l’Alto Mayo. Cette communauté, qui regroupe environ 220 familles, a massivement loué ses terres à des migrants andins. Le village a ainsi perdu environ 4.366 ha de terres, soit 89 % de son territoire.

Le projet aidera la communauté dans la gestion durable de ses terres et de ses partenariats avec le secteur privé, afin de stopper ou réduire la déforestation.

Ceci sera réalisé en :

  • Créant les conditions permettant la commercialisation et la promotion d’au maximum quatre différentes espèces de plantes vendues sous la forme d’infusions.

CI a réussi à établir une relation de confiance avec la communauté indigène Awajun, grâce à son travail auprès des femmes dans la création d’un nouveau modèle commercial visant à vendre les plantes médicinales sous forme d’infusions. Non seulement ce travail leur procure une source potentielle de revenus, mais il constitue aussi une opportunité de sauver leurs savoirs ancestraux, tout en fournissant des produits alternatifs au marché en pleine expansion des plantes médicinales. Aujourd’hui, les Awajun souhaitent créer leur propre plan de commercialisation et leur marque, et sécuriser le capital d’amorçage nécessaire à la promotion de leurs produits dans les foires et autres événements de ce type.

Soixante-six femmes issues de la Communauté Indigène Awajun de Shampuyacu seront les bénéficiaires directes de ce projet, qui soutient leur travail dans le cadre de l’initiative « Bosque de las Nuwas » (« La Forêt des Femmes» en Awajun). Ce projet profitera aussi directement aux familles, à travers la culture, la récolte et la commercialisation des plantes médicinales, à la conservation et la restauration de l’écosystème, avec au final, des revenus plus importants et de meilleurs bienfaits pour la santé. Lorsque le projet commencera à susciter de l’intérêt au sein de la communauté et que les avantages potentiels seront plus visibles, le nombre de participants augmentera. Il s’agit d’un modèle commercial pilote qui, s’il réussit, génèrera de l’intérêt au sein des communautés Awajun voisines, et augmentera ainsi son impact et son rayonnement.

  • Contribuant à la conservation des écosystèmes forestiers dans les communautés indigènes de l’Alto Mayo

Dans le même temps, ce projet permettra à Conservation International de s’engager auprès de la communauté Awajun de Shampuyacu, en proposant des accords de conservation aux  membres de la communauté, mais aussi aux fermiers migrants. L’ONG soutiendra des activités ayant pour but la conservation de leurs forêts primaires, la restauration et l’enrichissement des forêts en jachère et des systèmes d’agroforesterie grâce aux plantes traditionnelles, l’amélioration de l’environnement et de la biodiversité au sein de la communauté, l’amélioration des revenus, la sauvegarde et la transmission des savoirs indigènes ancestraux, et l’arrêt de la déforestation. L’objectif est de mettre en place la conservation et la restauration de la terre, afin de contribuer aux efforts de réduction des changements climatiques et être ainsi intégrées aux programmes nationaux.

Les espèces qui ont besoin d’être préservées et restaurées comprennent une trentaine de variétés locales de manioc et d’herbes qui jouent un rôle important dans la santé et la sécurité alimentaire de la communauté, ainsi que des espèces indigènes d’arbres indispensables à la sauvegarde de la faune en danger, comme par exemple le singe Titi des Andes (Callicebus oenanthe) et la grenouille Pristimantis katoptroides (classée ‘en danger critique d’extinction’).

Conservation International souhaite obtenir le soutien du gouvernement provincial, régional et national afin de parvenir à une durabilité de ce projet sur le long-terme et de susciter l’intérêt des marchés spécialisés.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS