Sustainable agriculture
Ecuador

Sustainable agro-ecological systems to promote the adaptation of communities in the Galapagos islands to climate change


Context:

Invasive species are one of the most serious threats to the biological stability of the Galapagos Archipelago. The low agricultural profitability, due to competition with imported products, and the low control practices lead these areas to become hotspots for the introduction and dispersion of such species. Simultaneously, conventional agriculture has led to a dependency on agrochemicals and pesticides, which, because of the permeability of the soils, leach to the underground aquifers – the only source of freshwater on the island. Years of conventional agriculture have also caused significant soil erosion.

There is also little gender inclusion on these islands. For example, in the rural areas of Santa Cruz, workforce participation in agricultural activities is made up of 86% men vs 14% women.

Objective:

Conservation International – Ecuador, in coordination with the Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock, will lead a Conservation Agreements program that supports a transition to sustainable production, improves livelihoods, and reduces dependency on imports that currently drive invasive species introductions on Santa Cruz island. The program will also raise awareness about the potential climate change adaptation and mitigation benefits offered through agro-ecological techniques and improve sexual and reproductive health issues in the gender relations with men and women farmers in the upper Santa Island.

Activities:

To improve the agricultural system on Santa Cruz Island, four key activities are planned:

  • A model for the island’s agroecology will be built, in accordance with the Natural Heritage of Humanity Scenario, which guarantee a reliable and sustainable supply of local agricultural products and contribute to the conservation of the island’s ecosystems by reducing dependence on imported products. The strengthening of marketing chains is also a very important factor, both to increase the income of farmers, and to make visible the existing production, and in turn the demand of products from the community and tourism sector to consider this local alternative.
  • The creation of a Field School, which is a source of key information transfer and collection, has been foreseen. Information on resilient and effective agricultural processes that have been used ancestrally will be spread as well as the environmental importance and consequences for climate change.
  • The project will also strengthen the production of cultivated areas with an agroecological model, and the adequate management of non-cultivated areas in order to intensify the control of invasive species.
  • The issue of gender equity, with emphasis on sexual and reproductive health will be mainstreamed in the project.
Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Agriculture durable
Equateur

Mise en place de systèmes agro-écologiques durables pour favoriser l’adaptation des communautés des îles Galápagos au changement climatique


Contexte:

Les espèces envahissantes constituent l’une des plus sérieuses menaces à la stabilité biologique de l’archipel des Galápagos. La faiblesse de la rentabilité de l’agriculture due à la concurrence des produits d’importation et le manque de procédures de contrôle rendent ces zones propices à l’introduction et à la dispersion de ces espèces. Parallèlement, l’agriculture conventionnelle a instauré une dépendance aux produits phytosanitaires et aux pesticides. Du fait de la perméabilité des sols, ces substances s’infiltrent dans les nappes phréatiques, qui constituent l’unique source d’eau douce de l’île. L’agriculture conventionnelle pratiquée depuis des années a également entraîné une importante érosion des sols.

De plus, l’archipel est marqué par une faible inclusion économique des femmes. Dans les zones rurales de l’île Santa Cruz par exemple, la main-d’œuvre agricole est composée de 86 % d’hommes et seulement 14 % de femmes.

Objectif :

En partenariat avec le Ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Élevage, Conservation International Équateur va mener un programme d’Accords de Conservation destiné à soutenir le passage à une production durable, à améliorer les moyens de subsistance des habitants et à réduire la dépendance vis-à-vis des importations, dépendance qui favorise actuellement l’introduction d’espèces envahissantes sur l’île Santa Cruz. Ce programme prévoit également de sensibiliser les communautés aux bénéfices potentiels des techniques agro-écologiques en matière d’atténuation du changement climatique et d’adaptation à celui-ci, et de réduire les problèmes de santé sexuelle et reproductive dans le cadre des relations de genre entre agriculteurs et agricultrices.

Activités mises en œuvre :

Afin d’améliorer le système agricole de l’île Santa Cruz, quatre activités stratégiques sont prévues :

  • Un modèle d’agro-écologie sera mis au point pour l’île en accord avec le « Scénario du patrimoine naturel de l’humanité », garantissant un approvisionnement stable et durable de produits agricoles locaux et contribuant à la conservation des écosystèmes de l’île en réduisant sa dépendance vis-à-vis des produits importés. La consolidation des circuits de commercialisation est également essentielle, à la fois pour augmenter les revenus des paysans, mais aussi pour valoriser la production existante, ce qui permettra de renforcer la demande pour ces produits au sein de la communauté et d’éveiller l’intérêt du secteur touristique pour cette alternative locale.
  • Une école de terrain sera créée afin de faciliter la transmission et la collecte d’informations clés. Des méthodes agricoles ancestrales efficaces et résilientes seront enseignées, ainsi que l’importance et les conséquences du changement climatique sur l’environnement.
  • Le projet améliorera également les rendements des zones cultivées grâce à un modèle agro-écologique et favorisera un meilleur contrôle des espèces envahissantes à travers une gestion optimisée des zones non-cultivées.
  • La question de l’égalité des sexes sera intégrée au projet, avec un accent particulier sur la santé sexuelle et reproductive.
Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS