Endangered animal species
European Union and African countries bordering the Atlantic and Indian Oceans

Research program on fisheries agreements


© Pierre Gleizes

To compensate for declining catches off the coasts of industrialized countries, fishing fleets have been receiving subsidies to enable them to extend their fishing to more distant waters. These large industrial vessels have deployed their fishing effort in the waters of developing countries through fisheries agreements established at the beginning of the 1980s to supply Western markets.

These fisheries agreements are widely criticized for their opacity and inequity. They include little incentive for good behavior on the part of foreign fishers, and the profits for ‘partner countries’ are often ridiculously small while foreign vessels are competing with small-scale local fishers. Moreover, the fishing practices used in the framework of these agreements have a considerable impact on ecosystems. Several target species are overfished, such as longfinned and bigeye tuna in the Atlantic, and albacore tuna in the Atlantic and Indian Oceans. The standard modus operandi of these fleets also involves the use of Fish Aggregating Devices, which are responsible for numerous incidental catches: silky shark, whale shark, oceanic whitetip shark, dolphinfish, ocean triggerfish, sea turtles, manta rays, etc.

The objective of this project is to improve conservation of the marine environment in Africa so as to preserve endangered species, stop the North-South export of fishing overcapacity, and protect fishing communities by restricting competition with foreign industrial fisheries.

To achieve this goal, BLOOM plans to set up an extensive research program on fisheries agreements.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Espèces animales en danger
Union européenne et Pays côtiers d'Afrique des océans Atlantique et Indien

Programme de recherche sur les accords de pêche


© Pierre Gleizes

Pour compenser la diminution des captures à proximité des côtes des pays industrialisés, des subventions ont été allouées aux flottes afin d’étendre les activités dans des eaux plus lointaines. Ces grands navires industriels ont déployé leur effort de pêche dans les eaux des pays en voie de développement par le biais d’accords de pêche, créés au début des années 1980, dans le but d’approvisionner les marchés occidentaux.

Ces accords de pêche sont généralement critiqués pour leur opacité et iniquité. Ils comportent très peu d’incitations pour les pêcheurs étrangers à bien se comporter, et le gain pour les ‘pays partenaires’ est souvent ridicule alors que les bateaux étrangers rivalisent avec les petits pêcheurs locaux. De plus, les techniques de pêche utilisées dans le cadre de ces accords ont également un impact non négligeable sur les écosystèmes. Plusieurs espèces ciblées sont surpêchées, comme par exemple les thons germons et obèses en Atlantique ou l’albacore dans les océans Atlantique et Indien. Le mode opératoire majoritaire de cette technique implique également l’utilisation de ‘dispositifs à concentration de poissons’, responsables de nombreuses captures accidentelles : requins soyeux, baleines et longimane, dorade coryphène, baliste océanique, tortues marines, raie manta, etc.

L’objectif de ce projet est d’améliorer la conservation du milieu marin en Afrique afin d’y préserver les espèces menacées, d’arrêter l’exportation de la surcapacité de pêche du Nord vers le Sud et de protéger les communautés de pêcheurs en limitant la concurrence avec les pêcheries industrielles étrangères.

Pour cela, BLOOM souhaite mettre en place un programme de recherche étendu sur les accords de pêche.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS