Sustainable agriculture
Ecuador

Women of the Andes, change makers in resilient and inclusive communities


Training

Context:

Andean women are the driving force of agricultural production in the country’s northern corridor. However, lack of access to land, capital, technology and citizen participation in rural communities means that these women have little involvement in either public or private decision-making. Furthermore, their rights are often violated and they remain victims of gender-based violence, particularly in the areas of sexual and reproductive health.

As part of a previous CARE project supported by Fondation Ensemble in Pedro Moncayo canton, a Cantonal School of Agroecology was set up. This school is now training 200 producers (90% women) in sustainable agriculture and product marketing. A protected sustainable farming area of 6,000 hectares has received national approval. A land use planning model has been developed, along with an associated financial scheme for conservation, the Water Fund. The Mojanda lake system covered by this project extends not only over Pedro Moncayo and Cayambe cantons but also Otavalo, hence the need to extend the implementation zone to that side of the Mojanda Lagoon.

Objective:

The aim of this new phase is to promote the mobilization of farming organizations, and particularly women, to influence local policy on climate change and gender. This will be achieved in two ways: first, through capacity building for innovation, use of technology and circular product marketing; and, secondly, through support for sustainable and environmentally friendly production strategies, financial training, social marketing and round tables with social enterprises. The project will also encourage strong community involvement in the prevention, mitigation, and protection of women against gender-based violence, particularly sexual violence.

Initiatives:

The potential for sustainable and resilient agriculture will be strengthened through the implementation of strategies aimed at innovation, climate change mitigation/adaptation, entrepreneurship and the social economy for women producers and/or entrepreneurs in the community. Training programs (in law, finance, marketing, etc.) will be run, and social enterprises will be set up and put in touch with local producers.

Similarly, sexual and reproductive rights will be promoted on the same basis as economic rights. Comprehensive citizen participation mechanisms will accordingly be created for the adoption, monitoring and enforcement of local public policies in favor of women’s rights. Women’s organizations will be helped to develop their competencies in the areas of gender-based violence, sexual and reproductive rights and self-care, as will the staff of health centers. Finally, community-based savings groups will be set up to improve access to credit and promote economic self-sufficiency.

Local government capacity will be strengthened, and collaboration and experience-sharing processes between the different cantons, civil society and private companies will be developed in the fields of entrepreneurship, inclusion, climate change resilience, and women’s rights. These improvements will promote a model of resilient and inclusive communities, free from gender-based violence, which ensures good governance and the sustainable use of natural resources.

To find out more about Phase 1 of this project, click here.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Agriculture Durable
Equateur

Femmes andines, créatrices de changements dans des territoires inclusifs et résilients


Contexte :

Les femmes andines sont considérées comme étant la force de production agricole du corridor nord du pays. Cependant, le manque d’accès à la terre, au capital, à la technologie et à la participation citoyenne, que rencontrent principalement celles vivant dans les communautés rurales, engendre une faible participation dans la formulation de politiques publiques et dans la prise de décisions dans leurs foyers et leurs communautés. De plus, elles continuent d’être confrontées à des situations qui violent leurs droits telles que la violence basée sur le genre, particulièrement dans la sphère sexuelle et reproductive.

Lors d’un précédent projet mené par CARE et soutenu par la Fondation Ensemble, dans le canton de Pedro Moncayo, une École Cantonale d’Agroécologie a été créée. Elle accueille désormais 200 producteurs, dont 90% de femmes formées à une agriculture saine et à la promotion de leur production. Une zone de conservation et d’exploitation durable de 6 000 hectares a été formalisée au niveau national. Un modèle de planification territoriale a été développé. Enfin un mécanisme financier pour la conservation, le Fonds de l’eau, a été mis en place. Le système lacustre visé par ce projet, Mojanda, s’étend sur les territoires de Pedro Moncayo, Cayambe, mais aussi d’Otavalo. Il est donc nécessaire d’étendre la zone d’intervention sur ce versant de la lagune de Mojanda.

Objectif :

L’objectif de cette nouvelle phase est de promouvoir la mobilisation des organisations paysannes, notamment des femmes, pour influencer les politiques locales sur le changement climatique et le genre. Cela se fera par le renforcement des capacités en termes d’innovation, de technicisation et de commercialisation circulaire des produits mais également par des stratégies de productions saines et respectueuses de l’environnement, la formation financière, le marketing social, des tables rondes avec les entreprises sociales. Ce projet comporte également une composante mobilisation communautaire pour la prévention, l’atténuation et la protection contre la violence de genre, en particulier les violences sexuelles.

Activités :

Le potentiel de l’agriculture durable et résiliente sera renforcé par la mise en œuvre de stratégies d’innovation, d’atténuation/adaptation au changement climatique, d’entrepreneuriat et d’économie sociale pour les femmes productrices et/ou entrepreneures dans les communautés. Ceci passera également par des programmes de formations (droit, finance, marketing, …), la création et la mise en contact d’entreprises sociales avec les producteurs-trices.

De même, les droits sexuels et reproductifs seront promus ainsi que l’accès aux droits économiques par le biais de mécanismes complets de participation citoyenne pour l’adoption, le suivi et l’application de politiques publiques locales favorables aux droits des femmes. Les organisations de femmes seront accompagnées dans le développement de leurs compétences en matière de prévention de la violence basée sur le genre, les droits sexuels et reproductifs et la capacité à prendre soin de soi. De même, le personnel des centres de santé verra ses compétences améliorées. Enfin des groupes d’épargne communautaires seront créées afin d’améliorer l’accès au crédit et à l’autonomie économique.

Les capacités des gouvernements locaux seront renforcées et des processus de collaboration conjointe et de partage d’expérience entre les différents cantons mais également la société civile et les entreprises privées seront mis en place en matière d’entrepreneuriat, d’inclusion, de résilience au changement climatique et de droits des femmes. Ces améliorations porteront sur un modèle de territoires inclusifs, résilients et libres de violence basée sur le genre, garantissant la gouvernance et la durabilité des ressources naturelles.

Pour en savoir plus sur la phase 1 de ce projet, cliquez ici.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS