Sustainable fishing
Myanmar

Collaborative Marine and Coastal Conservation in Myeik Archipelago


A crab bank where fishers keep berried female crabs until they release their eggs © Robert Howard - FFI

Context:

With a poverty rate at nearly 37%, Myanmar is one of Asia’s poorest nations. The ability to effectively manage natural resources is limited, coupled with little budget and capacity for biodiversity conservation. The marine environment is also facing various threats such as: overfishing, destructive fishing practices, increasing aquaculture and sedimentation… resulting in fish stocks falling by up to 90% in 40 years.

Fauna & Flora International (FFI) first engaged the Myanmar Government in 2011 to scope ideas for marine and coastal conservation activities in the Myeik Archipelago. This work has culminated with the identification of almost 30 areas of biodiversity or ecological importance providing a comprehensive data set to begin establishment of Marine Protected Area (MPA) and Locally Managed Marine Area (LMMA) networks. Through FFI’s facilitation and support, Myanmar recently designated three LMMAs.

Objective:

Department of Fisheries and local communities showed greatest interest to bring more areas under LMMA management and it is therefore the focus of this project implemented by FFI. The aim is to establish a network of functioning LMMAs throughout the Myeik Archipelago for conservation of key biodiversity areas and sustainable fisheries management.

Activities:

To this end, the capacity of the three existing LMMAs to deliver effective marine management will be increased. Specialized habitat status surveys will be supported in partnership with Myanmar universities. Patrols of the sites will be also supported including an education, awareness and compliance component. This project will also provide maintenance of boundary markers, signage and education/awareness materials.

At least four new marine areas will be created and sustainably managed through the LMMA model. Socio-economic surveys, resource mapping, threat and stakeholder assessments will be implemented in the proposed sites. LMMA management committees, fish catch monitoring programs, participatory boundary and zoning mapping will be established. Surrounding communities/fishers will be also consulted.

The net income for LMMA households will be increased through improvements in quality of products and more efficient and equitable relationships with other market actors. Participatory market mapping between fishers/farmers and other market actors will be facilitated. Fishers/farmers will be supported in access to locally appropriate micro-finance mechanisms. Training/mentoring/peer learning for producers will be supported to improve quality of products and to secure better prices for sustainable catch volumes.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Pêche durable
Myanmar

Conservation marine et côtière dans l’archipel de Myeik


A crab bank where fishers keep berried crab females until she releases her eggs

Contexte :

Avec un taux de pauvreté de près de 37 %, le Myanmar est l’un des pays les plus pauvres d’Asie. Sa capacité à gérer efficacement les ressources naturelles est limitée, de même que son budget pour la préservation de la biodiversité. Le milieu marin du Myanmar fait par ailleurs face à de multiples menaces (surpêche, pratiques de pêche destructrices, développement de l’aquaculture, hausse de la sédimentation…), qui ont fait baisser les réserves halieutiques de 90 % en 40 ans.

Fauna & Flora International (FFI) a commencé à travailler avec le gouvernement du Myanmar en 2011 pour proposer des actions de conservation marine et côtière dans l’archipel de Myeik. Ce travail a permis d’identifier près de 30 zones de biodiversité ou d’importance écologique, offrant un ensemble complet de données pour initier la mise en place d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées (Marine Protected Area – MPA) et d’aires marines gérées localement (Locally Managed Marine Area – LMMA) . Grâce au soutien de FFI, le Myanmar a récemment instauré trois LMMAs.

Objectif :

L’objectif de ce projet mis en œuvre par FFI est d’augmenter le nombre de LMMAs, le Ministère des Pêches et les communautés locales ayant manifesté un vif intérêt en ce sens. Le but est de mettre en place un réseau fonctionnel de LMMAs dans l’ensemble de l’archipel de Myeik, en vue de préserver des zones clés pour la biodiversité et d’assurer une gestion durable des pêches.

Activités :

Pour ce faire, la capacité des trois LMMAs existantes à gérer efficacement le milieu marin sera renforcée. Plusieurs études spécialisées sur l’état de l’habitat seront soutenues, en partenariat avec des universités du Myanmar. Le projet prévoit également un soutien aux patrouilles menées sur les sites, avec un volet dédié à l’éducation, à la sensibilisation et au respect des règles en vigueur. L’entretien des bornes de délimitation, des équipements de signalisation et des supports pédagogiques sera également pris en charge.

Au moins quatre nouvelles aires marines seront créées et gérées durablement via le modèle LMMA. Les sites proposés feront l’objet d’études socioéconomiques, de cartographies des ressources et d’évaluations des menaces et des parties prenantes. Des comités de gestion des LMMAs, des programmes de contrôle des prises de pêche et un processus participatif de cartographie des limites et des zones seront mis en place. Les communautés et les pêcheurs des environs seront également consultés.

Les familles habitant dans les LMMAs verront leurs revenus nets augmenter grâce à l’amélioration de la qualité des produits et à l’établissement de relations plus fructueuses et équitables avec les autres acteurs du marché. Une cartographie participative du marché entre les pêcheurs/agriculteurs et d’autres acteurs du marché sera facilitée. Les pêcheurs/agriculteurs seront soutenus pour accéder à des programmes de micro-finance adaptés aux besoins locaux. La formation, le parrainage, l’apprentissage entre pairs seront encouragés parmi les producteurs, afin d’améliorer la qualité des produits et d’obtenir de meilleurs prix pour les prises durables.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS