Endangered animal species
France, Reunion Island

‘Refuges for the Manapany ornate day gecko’, a participatory conservation initiative to preserve an endangered species in an urban environment


Male Manapany ornate day gecko © NOI

The Manapany ornate day gecko (Phelsuma inexpectata) is a species endemic to the island of Réunion. It is now found only in the south of the island on a narrow 11 km long coastal strip. The population is estimated at between 3000 and 5000, with a sharp decline in numbers observed over the last 20 years. The species is now classified as ‘critically endangered’ on the IUCN Red List.

The survival of this arboreal lizard depends on maintenance of its habitat, which is gradually disappearing. It lives in the vegetation native to the coastal cliffs and in private gardens. As these gardens are a prime habitat (home to nearly half the lizards), it is vital that the local population be involved in conservation efforts.

Adopting a participatory conservation approach, Operation ‘Refuges for the Manapany Ornate Day Gecko’ was launched on the initiative of the association Nature Océan Indien (NOI), to meet two main objectives:

  • To ensure long-term protection and conservation of the gecko populations in private gardens;

  • To improve the species’ living conditions and encourage the geckos to settle in new gardens.

The creation of a refuge is based on signature of an agreement, which commits the signatory to take the gecko into account in the everyday running of the household (garden maintenance, recommendations for any work required, etc.) and includes other optional measures (planting of suitable species, monitoring of the geckos on the person’s land). The association personally helps and supports each refuge by passing on useful information for protecting the species on the person’s land and providing free plants conducive to the gecko’s development in the gardens. In addition, NOI offers participants the chance to take part in individual and collective conservation efforts to protect the Manapany ornate day gecko: a network for reporting sightings of invasive species of green day gecko; plant production; volunteer ecological restoration work on the gecko’s natural habitat, etc.

For the coming year, the objective is to enhance the network of existing ‘refuges’ by extending it to new participants and proposing further action. The following initiatives are planned:

  • Identifying a minimum of 40 new ‘refuges’ to add to the existing 104. To do this, the NOI teams plan to produce and distribute an information leaflet on ‘Operation Refuge’ and to canvass residents living within the habitat area and a 200 meter radius as well as communicating through the media.
  • Visiting the existing refuges to exchange ideas, give advice and renew the agreement, if necessary. These visits will also enable NOI to carry out annual monitoring of the Manapany gecko population in an urban environment.
  • Production and distribution of 100 to 150 plants (to add to the 330 currently planted). The plant species will be chosen from the range suitable for the gecko. The donation of plants will help increase the habitat area.
  • Launching a new collective effort (special day for ecological restoration of the species’ habitat) and a new individual effort (monitoring of the geckos living in the refuges via photo identification).
Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Espèces animales en danger
France, Ile de la Réunion

Les « refuges pour le gecko vert de Manapany », une action de conservation participative pour la préservation d’une espèce menacée en milieu urbain


Male Manapany ornate day gecko © NOI

Le gecko vert de Manapany (Phelsuma inexpectata) est une espèce endémique de l’île de La Réunion. Il est présent uniquement dans le sud de l’île, sur une bande littorale extrêmement réduite d’environ onze kilomètres de long. Le nombre d’individus est estimé entre 3000 et 5000. Une forte régression de la population a été observée au cours des 20 dernières années, l’espèce étant désormais classée « En danger critique d’extinction » sur la liste rouge de l’UICN.

La survie de ce lézard arboricole dépend du maintien de son habitat qui disparaît progressivement. Il vit dans des formations végétales indigènes de falaises littorales et dans les jardins privés. Ces derniers sont des habitats privilégiés (près d’un individu sur deux y évolue), il est donc essentiel d’impliquer la population locale dans sa conservation.

Dans une démarche de conservation participative, l’opération « Refuges pour le gecko vert de Manapany » a été mise en place à l’initiative de l’association Nature Océan Indien, pour répondre à 2 objectifs principaux :

  • Maintenir et sécuriser sur le long terme les populations situées dans les jardins privés ;

  • Améliorer les conditions de vie de l’espèce et favoriser l’installation des geckos dans de nouveaux jardins.

La création d’un refuge repose sur la signature d’une convention qui engage le signataire à prendre en compte le gecko vert dans la gestion courante de son habitation (entretien du jardin, recommandations pour les travaux…) et propose également des mesures facultatives (plantation d’espèces favorables, suivi des geckos présents sur son terrain…). L’association assiste et accompagne personnellement chaque refuge en transmettant les connaissances utiles pour protéger l’espèce au sein d’une habitation et fournit gratuitement des plantes propices à son développement dans les jardins. En complément, NOI propose aux participants de prendre part à des actions de conservation individuelles et collectives en faveur du gecko vert de Manapany : réseau de signalement de geckos verts exotiques (une espèce invasive), production de plantes, chantier bénévole de restauration écologique de l’habitat naturel du gecko…

Pour l’année à venir, l’objectif est de dynamiser le réseau de « refuges » existant en l’élargissant à de nouveaux participants et en proposant de nouvelles actions. Il est notamment prévu :

  • De démarcher au minimum 40 nouveaux « refuges », leur nombre étant de 104 actuellement. Pour cela, les équipes de NOI souhaitent créer et diffuser un fascicule descriptif de l’opération « Refuges », démarcher des riverains au porte-à-porte dans la zone d’habitat et dans un périmètre de 200 mètres ainsi que communiquer via les médias.
  • De rencontrer les refuges déjà mis en place pour échanger, conseiller et renouveler la convention si nécessaire. Ces visites permettront aussi d’assurer un suivi annuel de la population présente en milieu urbain.
  • La production et la distribution de 100 à 150 plants (actuellement 330 déjà plantés). Les espèces seront choisies selon la palette favorable à l’espèce. Le don de plants permettra d’augmenter la surface d’habitat du gecko vert.
  • De proposer une nouvelle animation collective (journée de restauration écologique de l’habitat de l’espèce) et une nouvelle action individuelle (suivi des geckos présents dans les refuges par photo identification).
Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS