Endangered animal species
Ecuador, Galapagos Islands

Conservation of the Critically Endangered mangrove finch (Camarhynchus heliobates) in the Galapagos Islands


Mangrove finch © Juan Manuel García

Once distributed extensively throughout mangroves on the two western islands of Galapagos, following extensive population reductions since the early 1900s, the mangrove finch is now restricted to only 30 hectares on north west Isabela Island (at Playa Tortuga Negra and Caleta Black). The population is estimated at only 100 individuals and there are fewer than 20 breeding pairs. Without conservation intervention, mangrove finch nesting success is extremely low due to high nestling mortality as a result of introduced species.

The main objective of this project is to lead intensive conservation management to reduce extinction risk to the mangrove finch by increasing fledgling success each season, by reducing nestling mortality from introduced Philornis downsi larvae parasitism and introduced rat predation. Concurrently capacity building of Ecuadorians via hands-on training in endangered bird conservation techniques takes place. Additionally the project has a small outreach component to increase awareness of the mangrove finch within the local community of Puerto Villamil (the largest town on Isabela island) where the mangrove finch is presented as a flagship species to highlight the importance of protecting mangrove habitat, such as the Ramsar wetland which surrounds the township.

Fondation Ensemble supported this project in 2016

At that time, there was no viable method to protect nestlings in their natural habitat and eggs and/or small chicks had to be removed from the wild and reared in captivity before being released back into the wild (head-starting). Over four years, this head-starting program successfully released 39 hatchlings that would not have survived otherwise and since then several individuals have been observed in the wild and some have successfully bred – with one hand-reared female having now raised three clutches. However, this technique was logistically and technically challenging and while two seasons had very high captive chick survival, during two seasons this was low. In addition collecting eggs and/or small chicks interrupts the reproductive cycle of the adult birds. As a result the Mangrove Finch Project has been committed to finding a technique to protect nestlings in the wild, enabling them to fledge naturally. During 2017 the field team trialled a new method, developed by collaborators on more common Galapagos finch species, to protect mangrove finch nestlings from parasitism without having to remove them from the nest, this proved to be successful. By carefully injecting an insecticide (permacap) solution into the base of nests the number of Philornis downsi were reduced and chicks fledged. Additional care is given to chicks by removing any parasites found and providing supplementary food. Since 2017 at least 26 chicks have fledged in natural conditions as a result of this and individuals from treated nests have now been observed breeding. These results demonstrate the need to continue with intensive conservation management to increase the mangrove finch population until a large scale viable Philornis downsi control method can be determined (a separate project, CDF’s Philornis Project, is focussed on conducting research into this).

THE FOUNDATION IS SUPPORTING THIS PROJECT ONCE AGAIN IN 2020 WITH A GRANT OF €7000

An intensive two-month field trip will be carried out in early 2021 during which time the field team will focus on increasing mangrove finch breeding success without having to remove any birds from their natural habitat. Mangrove finch nests will be located and treated with permacap solution to reduce the number of Philornis downsi larvae. This method, which will be used for the fourth season, will be compared with results from head-starting. Additionally, to reduce nest predation, introduced rat control will be conducted across all occupied mangrove finch habitat. Data on the mangrove finch population will be collected including habitat and territory occupation, survival (capture/recapture/marking), blood collection for DNA/disease analysis.. Trials will be conducted to see if supplementary food provided to the adult population can assist the species during breeding seasons with dry weather and limited food supply. The localised mangrove forest habitat, on which the mangrove finches depend, will also be studied to help inform future management decisions. Local personnel will be involved in all aspects of these field activities. Finally, public awareness campaigns will continue to be undertaken with school children in the local Isabela Island community.

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useCookiesFAQSitemapRSS

Espèces animales en danger
Equateur, Galapagos

Conservation du Géospize des mangroves (Camarhynchus heliobates), une espèce en danger critique d’extinction sur les îles Galapagos


Mangrove finch © Juan Manuel García

Autrefois, le territoire du Géospize des mangroves s’étendait à travers les mangroves des deux îles occidentales des Galapagos. Mais, après une importante diminution de la population au début du XXème siècle, sa zone d’évolution n’est plus aujourd’hui réduite qu’aux deux plages de Playa Tortuga et Caleta Negra, soit une superficie totale de seulement 30 hectares, au Nord Ouest de l’île Isabela. Sa population n’est estimée qu’à seulement 100 individus et il y a moins de 20 couples reproducteurs. Sans une intervention de conservation, la réussite de nidification d’un géospize est extrêmement basse à cause de la forte mortalité liée aux espèces invasives.

L’objectif principal de ce projet est de mettre en place une politique intensive de conservation, afin de réduire au maximum le risque d’extinction du Géospize des mangroves, en augmentant le taux d’éclosion des oeufs à chaque saison, et en réduisant le taux de mortalité des oisillons dû aux larves parasites de la mouche Philornis Downsi et de la prédation des rats qui ont été introduits. En même temps, les capacités des Equatoriens seront développées via des formations pratiques sur les techniques de protection des oiseaux en danger. De plus, le projet comporte une composante sensibilisation, afin d’améliorer les connaissances de la population de Puerto Villamil (la ville la plus peuplée sur l’île d’Isabela) sur le Géospize des mangroves, où de cet oiseau est présenté comme une espèce emblématique pour montrer l’importance de la protection du milieu naturel de la mangrove, comme la zone humide classée Ramsar qui entoure le canton.

La Fondation a soutenu ce projet une première fois en 2016

À l’époque, il n’y avait pas de méthode viable pour protéger les oisillons dans leur habitat naturel et les oeufs et/ou oisillons devaient être retirés et élevés en captivité avant d’être remis en liberté (méthode « head-starting »). Après 4 ans, ce programme a permis de relâcher avec succès 39 oisillons qui n’auraient pas survécus sinon et depuis certains ont été observés dans la nature et même certains se sont accouplés – notamment une femelle ayant désormais élevé 3 couvées. Néanmoins, cette technique a été un défi logistique et technique et, bien que pendant 2 saisons il y ait eu un fort taux de survie des poussins élevés en captivité, ce taux fut faible pour les deux autres. De plus, la collecte d’oeufs et/ou oisillons interrompt le cycle de reproduction des oiseaux adultes. En conséquence, les équipes du projet ont été obligées de trouver une technique pour protéger les oisillons dans la nature, leur permettant de s’envoler naturellement. En 2017, l’équipe terrain a essayé une nouvelle méthode, développée par des collaborateurs sur des espèces de pinsons plus communes, pour protéger les géospizes du parasitisme sans avoir à les retirer du nids, technique qui s’est avérée efficace. En injectant avec précaution une solution insecticide (permacap) dans la base des nids, le nombre de Philornis downsi a été réduit et les poussins ont pris leur envol. Des soins supplémentaires sont apportés aux poussins en éliminant les parasites trouvés et en leur fournissant une alimentation complémentaire. Depuis 2017, au moins 26 poussins ont pris leur envol dans des conditions naturelles à la suite de cela et des individus des nids traités ont maintenant été observés en train de se reproduire. Ces résultats démontrent la nécessité de poursuivre la gestion intensive de la conservation pour augmenter la population de géospizes jusqu’à ce qu’une méthode de contrôle viable à grande échelle de Philornis downsi puisse être déterminée (un projet distinct, le projet Philornis, est axé sur la recherche dans ce domaine).

La Fondation soutient une nouvelle fois le projet en 2020 pour un montant de 7 000 €

Une étude terrain intensive de deux mois sera menée jusqu’à début 2021 durant laquelle l’équipe se concentrera sur l’amélioration des reproductions des géospizes sans avoir à retirer les oiseaux de leur habitat naturel. Les nids seront localisés et traités avec une solution permacap afin de réduire le nombre de larves. Les résultats entre cette nouvelle méthode, qui sera utilisée pour la quatrième fois, et celle du prélèvement des œufs pour éclosion surveillée seront comparés. De plus, pour réduire la prédation des nids, le contrôle contre les rats introduits sera mené tout autour de l’habitat du géospize. Des données sur la population seront récoltées : zone d’occupation, taux de survie, capture/recapture, collecte de sang pour analyse ADN et des maladies… De la nourriture supplémentaire sera également fournie afin de savoir si elle est utile pour l’espèce dans des périodes de faibles intempéries et de disponibilité de nourriture limitée. L’habitat forestier de mangrove local, dont dépend le géospize, sera également étudié pour aider les futures décisions de gestion. Le personnel local sera impliqué dans tous les aspects de ces activités sur le terrain. Enfin la sensibilisation continuera auprès des écoliers et des communautés locales de l’île d’Isabela.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesCookiesFAQPlan du siteRSS