Use of cookies If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you are happy to receive all the cookies we use. Find out more and manage settings .

Sustainable technologies
Mozambique

Enabling 3.600 people to access sustainable small scale solar power


Bread sellers

The existing low electrification rates pose a daily obstacle for millions of people in their struggle for better living standards for themselves and for the future generations. Lack of investments in rural areas due to non-existing or limited energy infrastructure perpetuate poverty. Access to energy can significantly contribute to development. This project aims to introduce an innovative energy solution in rural communities in Mozambique. Energy will become affordable, decentralised, clean and sustainable.

At present, only 6% of Mozambique’s total population have access to grid-source electricity. This means that approximately 19.7 million people do not benefit from the social, educational and professional opportunities that grid electricity brings. In Changalane, there is no existing electricity infrastructure at present. Thus, the population uses firewood and kerosene lamps.

The implementation of the project will decrease kerosene consumption by 200.000 – 240.000 liters and CO2 emissions by 600 tons in the first 10 years. This will contribute to the decrease of respiratory diseases among the population and influence positively the environmental conditions (also due to reduction of deforestation for firewood purposes).

Light is also an important factor in the development of local businesses which, with the use of lanterns, could operate for longer hours, thereby increasing their productivity and income. 100 local business people will receive training on how to use the new technology to develop their businesses. Indirect beneficiaries include the community in general (11,000 to 12,000 people) due to improved environmental conditions and development.

The specific objectives of the project are:

  • To provide quality lighting to 720 families (approx. 3600 people) by renting out lanterns and to another 100 families (approx. 600 people) by selling lanterns (TOTAL 820 families, approx. 4.200 people).
  • To support the sustainability of the solar panels.

The project will implement two different models to provide solar energy:

  • One model will use 12 solar charging stations. This is an entrepreneurial model of energy service delivery which consists of a set of solar panels, a junction box, cables, a charging station and 50 lanterns per panel which are available for rent at a small fee.
  • The other model consists of selling affordable solar lanterns equipped with their own small solar panel, which can also be used to charge mobile phones.

The rental and sale of the equipment will be run by selected local entrepreneurs from the target communities.

This project is funded by Fondation Ensemble in partnership with the Fonds de Dotation Synergie Solaire

Share this project on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useFAQSitemapRSS

Utilisation des cookies En poursuivant votre navigation sans modifier vos paramètres de cookies, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies. En savoir plus et gérer ces paramètres .

Technologies durables
Mozambique

Accès à des petites unités photovoltaïques pour 3600 personnes


Bread sellers

Au Mozambique, le faible taux actuel d’électrification représente un obstacle quotidien pour les millions de personne qui luttent dans le but d’améliorer leurs conditions de vie et celles des générations futures. Le manque d’investissement dans les zones rurales à cause de la quasi non existence des infrastructures énergétiques perpétue la pauvreté. L’accès à l’énergie est un facteur de développement important. L’objectif de ce projet est d’introduire une solution énergétique innovante dans les communautés rurales du Mozambique. L’énergie deviendra ainsi accessible, décentralisée, propre et durable.

Actuellement, 6% de la population totale du Mozambique seulement a accès à un réseau électrique. Cela signifie qu’environ 19,7 millions de personnes ne peuvent bénéficier des opportunités sociales, éducatives et professionnelles qu’apporte le réseau électrique. À Changalane, il n’y a aujourd’hui aucune infrastructure électrique. La population n’utilise que le bois et des lampes à kérosène.

La mise en oeuvre du projet réduira la consommation de kérosène de 200.000 à 240.000 litres et les émissions de CO2 de 600 tonnes au cours des 10 premières années. Cela contribuera à faire diminuer le nombre de maladies respiratoires et influencera de manière positive les conditions environnementales (grâce à la réduction de la déforestation pour les besoins en bois)

L’approvisionnement en lumière est également un facteur important de développement pour les entreprises locales qui pourraient, grâce à l’utilisation de lanternes, travailler plus tard et ainsi augmenter leur productivité et leurs revenus. 100 entrepreneurs locaux vont recevoir une formation pour apprendre à utiliser la nouvelle technologie pour le développement de leur entreprise. Les bénéficiaires indirects incluent la communauté dans son ensemble (11.000 à 12.000 personnes) grâce à l’amélioration et au développement des conditions environnementales.

Les objectifs spécifiques du projet sont :

  • Fournir à 720 familles (soit environ 3.600 personnes) un éclairage de qualité par la location de lanternes et à 100 autres familles (soit environ 600 personnes) par la vente de lanternes (soit au total 820 familles c’est à dire environ 4.200 personnes)
  • Soutenir la durabilité des panneaux solaires

Le projet mettra en place deux modèles différents pour fournir de l’énergie solaire :

  • Un des modèles utilisera 12 postes de chargement solaire. Il s’agit d’un modèle entrepreneurial de fourniture d’énergie qui consiste en un jeu de panneaux solaires, une boîte de connexion, des câbles, un poste de chargement et 50 lanternes par panneau, disponibles à la location à bas prix.
  • L’autre modèle consiste à vendre des lanternes solaires accessibles, équipées avec leur propre petit panneau solaire qui peut aussi être utilisé pour recharger des téléphones portables.

La location et la vente de ces équipements seront gérées par des entrepreneurs locaux sélectionnés et issus des communautés ciblées.

Ce projet est financé par la Fondation Ensemble en partenariat avec le Fonds de Dotation Synergie Solaire.

Partager ce projet sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesFAQPlan du siteRSS