Use of cookies If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you are happy to receive all the cookies we use. Find out more and manage settings .

News
10 February 2017

Testimonies of Isidro Chicaiza and Carmen Ulcuango, beneficiaries of the AVSF project in Ecuador


Ulcuango

 

Carmen Ulcuango, a 40-year-old farmer, is involved in the Carcelén Frutos de Nuestra Tierra market and the ‘Yo Prefiero’ food basket scheme. She works on her farm with her four children, helped by her husband on weekends or when he is not away doing construction work.

“It’s quiet here, it’s the countryside; the air is pure, it’s not like in the town. Farming provides us with everything, but it isn’t easy because the soil isn’t good. It’s cangahua (volcanic crust) and we lack fertilizers.

I like being part of this project because I’ve learned for the first time how to make fertilizer, mixtures, how to grind up small stones for ‘soil mineralization’, how to ‘prepare microorganisms’ and so on. This helps us a lot with our production. By making my own fertilizer, I no longer need to buy chemical products, I have no expenses and the soil quality improves.

I’ve had also a lot of support. In the past, we didn’t know where to sell our produce. We couldn’t eat everything we grew and so some of our pulses went bad. With the monthly food baskets, I earn between $150 and $180 (US dollars), and at the Carcelén market I make around $60 nearly every week.

That helps me financially: I can contribute to my children’s education, to transport and food costs. And on top of that, I don’t buy all my food any more. I now have a bigger variety of produce all the time, to eat or to sell. I bring back strawberries, blackberries, oranges and mandarins from the market, which we hardly ever used to eat.

I hope to continue farming, growing more types of crop. At the markets, they want more produce.”

 

Chicaiza

 

Isidro Chicaiza, a 49-year-old farmer. He lives in Santa Marianita and works with his wife. His two daughters help them after school. He mainly grows tomatoes, strawberries, peppers and cucumbers … He could grow more but he has water access problems, and so not all the land can be farmed. He has to to optimize water use, which is why he uses a drip irrigation system on several crops.

I like my community. It’s a healthy place, we’re in the open air, we live in a community and there’s a spirit of solidarity between us. I don’t like living in towns.

I also like taking part in the workshops and exchange visits, discovering new places and learning new things. […] I’ve gained a lot from what I’ve learned: I know more, my yields are higher, my crops grow well. We’re organized and we’ve been able to improve ourselves, little by little.

Everything’s positive as far as I’m concerned. In the past, projects came, and they taught us how to produce, but now the important thing is being able to sell. We work more systematically and we’re not afraid to produce because we know where to sell. With the food baskets, I earn between $100 and $140 a month and at the Carcelén market I make about $80.

We eat much better nowadays and exchange our produce, rather than having to buy food as we used to do. We haven’t had to buy anything for three years now. Every week, I exchange about $10 to $15 worth of food; I take cheese, empanadas, bananas, onions, yoghurt and so on.

I don’t use chemical products on my crops, which makes us healthier and doesn’t destroy the soil and the environment. […]

In terms of the family, I want us to continue working together without having to move to the town. My married children have come back and now we’re building new greenhouses so that we can all work together. But we need other outlets as well as Carcelén so that we can carry on selling.”

Find out more on the AVSF project in Ecuador here.

Share this content on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useFAQSitemapRSS

Utilisation des cookies En poursuivant votre navigation sans modifier vos paramètres de cookies, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies. En savoir plus et gérer ces paramètres .

Actualités
10 février 2017

Témoignages d’Isidro Chicaiza et de Carmen Ulcuango, bénéficiaires du projet AVSF en Equateur


Ulcuango

 

Carmen Ulcuango, agricultrice de 40 ans, participe au marché de Carcelén Frutos de Nuestra Tierra et au panier paysan “Yo Prefiero”. Elle travaille dans son exploitation avec ses 4 enfants, et son mari aide les fins de semaine ou quand il n’a pas à aller travailler dans la construction.

« Ici c’est tranquille pour vivre, c’est la campagne, il y a de l’air pur, ce n’est pas comme en ville. La production nous donne de tout, mais ce n’est pas facile à cause de la terre qui n’est pas bonne, c’est de la cangahua (croute volcanique), il nous manque des engrais.

J’apprécie vraiment de participer à ce projet car c’est la première fois que j’apprends à faire des engrais, des bouillies, à utiliser les petites pierres en les triturant pour faire la ‘minéralisation du sol’, à ‘préparer des micro-organismes’… Cela nous aide beaucoup pour produire. Avec les engrais que je fabrique, je n’achète plus de produits chimiques, je ne dépense plus et la terre s’améliore.

J’ai aussi ressenti beaucoup d’appuis. Avant nous ne savions pas où vendre, nous produisions et une partie des légumes secs s’abimait, on ne pouvait pas tout manger. Dans le panier paysan mensuel, ils me paient entre 150 et 180 $ (dollars US) et au marché de Carcelen je vends presque toutes les semaines pour 60 $.
Cela m’aide au niveau économique, je peux contribuer à l’éducation de mes enfants, aux transports, aux repas. En plus, je n’achète plus tous mes aliments, j’ai plus de diversité de produits tout le temps pour manger et vendre. Et je rapporte du marché des fraises, des mûres, des oranges, des mandarines. Avant nous n’en mangions presque jamais.

A l’avenir, j’espère continuer à produire, en semant plus de produits ; sur les marchés ils demandent plus de produits. »

 

Chicaiza

 

Isidro Chicaiza, agriculteur de 49 ans. Il vit dans la communauté de Santa Marianita et travaille avec sa femme. Ses 2 filles les aident après le collège. Il produit principalement des tomates, des fraises, des poivrons, des concombres… Il pourrait produire plus mais il a des problèmes d’accès à l’eau et ne peut pas cultiver toute la terre. Il faut optimiser l’eau et c’est pour cela qu’il a un système d’irrigation en goutte à goutte sur plusieurs cultures.

« J’aime ma communauté, c’est un endroit sain, on est à l’air libre, on vit dans la communauté, il y a une fraternité, je n’aime pas vivre en ville.

Aussi j’aime participer aux ateliers, aux visites d’échange, connaître de nouveaux endroits et apprendre de nouvelles choses. […] Avec ce que j’ai appris, j’ai beaucoup gagné, j’ai plus de connaissances, mes rendements sont meilleurs, mes cultures vont bien. Nous sommes organisés et nous avons pu nous améliorer petit à petit.

Tout est positif pour moi. Avant, les projets venaient, ils nous apprenaient à produire, mais l’important maintenant c’est de pouvoir vendre. Nous travaillons de manière plus décidée, nous produisons sans peur parce que nous savons où vendre. Dans le panier paysan je vends entre 100 et 140 $ par mois et au marché de Carcelén je vends en moyenne pour 80 $.
Nous avons largement amélioré notre alimentation, nous échangeons nos produits. Avant nous devions acheter, maintenant cela fait presque 3 ans que nous n’achetons plus. Toutes les semaines j’échange pour 10 à 15 $, j’apporte du fromage, des empanadas, des bananes, des oignons, du yaourt, …
Sur mes cultures je n’utilise pas de produits chimiques, ce qui nous aide au niveau de la santé et nous ne détruisons pas les sols et l’environnement. […]

Au niveau de la famille, je veux que nous continuions à travailler unis sans devoir aller en ville. Mes enfants mariés sont revenus, maintenant nous construisons de nouvelles serres pour travailler tous ensemble, mais nous avons besoin d’autres lieux que Carcelen pour continuer à vendre. »

Retrouvez le projet AVSF en Équateur.

Partager cet article sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesFAQPlan du siteRSS