Use of cookies If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you are happy to receive all the cookies we use. Find out more and manage settings .

News
29 August 2017

Impact investment: over 50 000 Cambodians equipped with a biodigester by 2020, thanks to the growth of ATEC


Actu_Atec

Fondation Ensemble was already a partner of People in Need in Cambodia back in 2014. This year, the Foundation is investing in ATEC, a social enterprise set up by two Australian NGOs to scale up biogas technology. Impacts are expected in numerous fields: social, economic, health and environmental.

Installing a biodigester enables household waste to be used in two ways: as energy (gas, mainly for cooking) and organic fertilizer. Each family can therefore cook without using charcoal or firewood. No more collecting firewood every day or buying expensive charcoal; no more indoor pollution of kitchens and homes due to wood burning! No more pesticide use, with its harmful effects on health! Each biodigester is capable of producing the volume of organic fertilizer needed to cultivate 1.5 hectares of rice. This not only lowers production costs but also leads to higher agricultural yields (+ 5 to 20 %) that are also more sustainable. Finally each unit will save an average family $260 per year.

ATEC is planning to sell 14 500 biodigesters by 2020, thereby scaling up to reduce sources of pollution, fight against deforestation, substantially increase income and participate in the general improvement of people’s living conditions. Nor should we forget that the development of biogas technology helps combat the global warming that affects us all. The use of one biodigester reduces CO2 production by 3 tonnes every year, which means that for 14,500 families the reduction totals 43 500 tonnes annually! An outcome to which the Foundation will in part have contributed, and which may lead us, in the longer term, to envisage new types of support.

Over 25 years, one biodigester provides:

  • 6.8 million litres of sustainable biogas
  • 492 tonnes of organic fertilizer
  • $6 400 in savings
  • 75 tonnes of greenhouse gas reduction
  • A payback of $9 for every dollar invested

Share this content on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useFAQSitemapRSS

Utilisation des cookies En poursuivant votre navigation sans modifier vos paramètres de cookies, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies. En savoir plus et gérer ces paramètres .

Actualités
29 août 2017

Impact investment : Plus de 50 000 cambodgiens équipés d’un biodigesteur d’ici 2020 grâce au développement d’ATEC


Actu_Atec

La Fondation Ensemble était déjà partenaire de People in Need au Cambodge, depuis 2014. Elle investit cette année dans ATEC, entreprise fondée par deux ONG australiennes, pour soutenir la technologie biogaz à plus grande échelle. Car les impacts attendus sont multiples : sociaux, économiques, sanitaires et environnementaux.

L’installation d’un biodigesteur permet de valoriser ses déchets domestiques sous deux formes : énergie (gaz, principalement pour la cuisson) et engrais naturels. Chaque famille acquiert la possibilité de cuisiner sans avoir recours au charbon ou au bois de chauffe. Finies les corvées récurrentes de bois ou l’achat coûteux de charbon, et plus de pollution dans les cuisines et dans la maison à cause des foyers ! Fini également le recours aux pesticides et leurs effets néfastes sur la santé ! Chaque biodigesteur est capable de produire le volume d’engrais naturels nécessaire à la culture de riz sur 1,5 ha. Non seulement son utilisation permet de réduire les coûts de production, mais les rendements agricoles obtenus s’avèrent supérieurs (+ 5 à 20 %) et davantage durables. Enfin, chaque unité permettra une économie annuelle de 260$ à chaque famille.

ATEC projette 14 500 ventes d’ici 2020, ce qui permettra, à plus grande échelle, de réduire les sources de pollution, de lutter contre la déforestation, d’augmenter les revenus des bénéficiaires et d’améliorer leurs conditions de vie.  Sans oublier la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique qui nous concerne tous. Le développement de la technologie biogaz y contribue, l’utilisation d’un biodigesteur réduisant la production de carbone de 3 tonnes chaque année. Soit pour 14 500 familles, une réduction totale de 43 500 tonnes sur une année ! Un résultat auquel la Fondation Ensemble aura été en partie associée et qui lui permettra d’envisager à terme, de nouvelles formes de soutiens.

Durant 25 ans, un biodigesteur fournit :

  • 6,8 millions litres de biogaz durable
  • 492 tonnes d’engrais naturel
  • 6 400 $ d’économie
  • 75 tonnes de réduction de gaz à effet de serre
  • Un rendement de 9 $ pour chaque dollar investi

Partager cet article sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesFAQPlan du siteRSS