Use of cookies If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you are happy to receive all the cookies we use. Find out more and manage settings .

News
22 June 2017

Testimony of Consuela Pastor, farmer involved with the Care project in Ecuador


Consuela_New

Consuela Pastor works with the project ‘Enabling communities in the Andes to adapt to climate change through the management, conservation and restoration of the páramos’.

The páramos are a high-altitude biotope situated in the Andes mountain range. This project, run by Care in Ecuador, aims to restore the páramos using an ecosystem approach. An environmental education program has been launched as well as training in high-altitude farming techniques that are resilient to climate change and a program for improving living conditions.

‘I used to live in a town before, but since I became one of the women producers in the ‘Buen Vivir’ (Living Well) association, my life has changed direction.

Being part of this organization has enabled me to understand new ways of living and to adopt new values like solidarity, give and take, and sharing – concepts that are alien to city life.

The women here have taught me how to stand together, how to think of others, and how to sow seeds. My friends and I are involved in this project on a daily basis. I share ideas with young people and with the community: I feel I’m a full-fledged member now. With the Care team, I’ve worked with communities and small schools to develop project activities, in particular turning boys and girls into budding journalists.

Working with children has a positive impact. We’ve talked about water and about the páramo, and I could feel their interest in conserving natural resources. If we continue to raise awareness about water conservation and the páramo, I think that Pedro Moncayo will have a better future, for we’ll be able to deal with climate change.’

Share this content on :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCreditsTerms of useFAQSitemapRSS

Utilisation des cookies En poursuivant votre navigation sans modifier vos paramètres de cookies, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies. En savoir plus et gérer ces paramètres .

Actualités
22 juin 2017

Interview de Consuela Pastor, agricultrice avec le projet mené par Care en Equateur


Consuela_New

Consuela Pastor travaille avec le projet ‘Adaptation au changement climatique des populations andines par la gestion, la conservation et la restauration de páramos

Les páramos sont un biotope d’altitude que l’on retrouve dans la Cordillère des Andes. Ce programme, mené par Care en Equateur, vise à les restaurer grâce à des techniques ecosystémiques. Un programme d’éducation environnementale ainsi que des des formations aux méthodes agricoles d’altitude, résilientes au changement climatique, et sur l’amélioration des conditions de vies sont notamment mis en place.

« Je vivais en ville auparavant mais depuis que je fais partie des productrices de l’association ‘Buen Vivir’ (Bien Vivre), ma vie a pris un tout autre sens.

Ma participation au sein de cette organisation m’a permis de comprendre de nouveaux concepts de vie et d’intégrer des valeurs telles que la solidarité, la réciprocité et le partage qui sont des concepts étrangers en ville.

Ces femmes m’ont appris à être solidaire, à penser aux autres, et à semer. Je participe à ce projet au quotidien avec mes amies. J’échange avec les jeunes mais aussi avec les communautés : je me sens en être membre à part entière. Avec l’équipe Care, j’ai accompagné des communautés et des écoles de petite taille dans le développement des activités du projet et tout particulièrement dans la formation des garçons et des filles journalistes ‘en herbe’.

Le travail avec les enfants a un impact positif. Nous avons parlé de l’eau, du páramo et j’ai ressenti qu’ils avaient du goût pour la préservation des ressources naturelles. Si nous continuons à éveiller les consciences sur les thèmes de la préservation de l’eau et du páramo, je pense que Pedro Moncayo connaîtra un avenir meilleur, car nous ferons face au changement climatique. »

Partager cet article sur :
© 2014 Fondation EnsembleCréditsMentions légalesFAQPlan du siteRSS